Professor Roland De Marco received his PhD in Chemistry / Physics from La Trobe University in 1992.

In 1989, he was recipient of the RACI Bloom-Guttmann award for the best paper by a young author under 30 years of age, and was awarded the 2008 RACI Lloyd Smythe Medal for excellence in research in Analytical Chemistry.

From 1990 to 1992, Professor De Marco worked as a Research Scientist at CSIRO Minerals in Melbourne undertaking research on lead/acid batteries.

He spent three years between 1992 and 1995 working as a Lecturer in Physical / Analytical Chemistry at the University of Tasmania.

In 1995, he joined Curtin University of Technology, served as its Chemistry Department Head from 2001 to 2007, and was promoted to Professor in 2006. From July 2007 to December 2009, Professor De Marco served as Dean of Research in the Faculty of Science and Engineering at Curtin University presiding over 300 teaching/research and research staff in a Faculty comprising comprehensive activities across a diverse range of disciplines, leading to his subsequent appointment as Associate Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research Strategy) at Curtin University in 2010.

In January 2011, Professor De Marco took up the position of Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) at the University of the Sunshine Coast and attained the position of Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) in January 2016.

He continues research in the field of electrochemical surface and interface analysis, electrochemical sensors and energy materials, and has procured over $13.5 million in competitive research funding and has published over 130 refereed publications in the field.


List of other board / committee appointments




2016 – present Innovation Centre Non-executive Director
2016 – present Queensland Synchrotron and Neutron User Committee Secretary


2016 – 2018 Australian Synchrotron Chairperson,

Soft X-ray Proposal Advisory Committee

2016 – 2018 Australian Synchrotron Member,

User Advisory Committee

2018 – present AINSE Board Member
2018 – present Regional Development Australia Sunshine Coast Member